Higher Education Marketing Links of the Day

Each day, TWG Plus gives you a short synopsis of what is going on in the world of higher education and higher education marketing. Dr. Taylor Trussell is your curator.

College merit aid produces bidding wars (Washington Post). “It is becoming a common scenario post-recession: Affluent applicants, shocked by college sticker prices and leery of debt, are choosing a school not because it is the first choice but because it is the best deal.”

The Smart Student’s Guide to Choosing a College, Part 2 (Patch.com). “Before we review what’s important in gauging a college, let’s first consider what’s not important. Unregulated and aggressive college marketing is very selective about the facts that are revealed.”

Legislators Ask Testing Companies How They Use Student Data (Head Count). “Two U.S. congressmen who seek enhanced online privacy protections for teenagers have asked ACT Inc. and the College Board to disclose how they collect and use test takers’ personal information… .”

Higher Education Marketing With Facebook Pages – Webinar Wrap Up

On Thursday 5/26/2011 Talmadge and Ross held the second of our Social Media Social Hours.

During the one hour session we covered
– Links to Facebooks new Best Practices guide
– Recent reports on the state of social media in higher education
– How to set up and use Facebook pages.

If you happened to miss the social hour, you can catch video and slides from the event below.

Links from the event:

Our next conversation at the SMSH will be in June and we’ll be discussing how to effectively use QR codes in your higher education campaigns.

Higher Education Marketing Links of the Day

Here’s the latest in Higher Education and Higher Education Marketing news curated by Dr. Taylor Trussell.

A Small College Tries, Tries Again to Land a President From a Shrinking Pool (Chronicle). “[R]ecent changes in the nature of college presidencies over all have further reduced the pool of candidates that Mount Marty might have been able to choose from in the past.”

Dispatches from AIR: Counselor vs. Higher Ed Peer Assessments in USNWR Rankings (Admitted). “[H]ow does the selection of counselors affect the peer assessments of postsecondary institutions?”

Helpful Facebook Resources for Higher Education Marketing

Recently, Facebook released a 14-page best practice guide for marketing on their platform. The guide is broken down into two sections – their five guiding principles and how to use Facebook by objective. Higher Education professionals can use  this guide to get some ideas about building deeper relationships with their students – from highschool to post-graduation alumni.

At the back of the document are some very helpful links that we’ve supplied below.

About Facebook

Facebook Stats www.facebook.com/press/info.php?statistics

Press Room www.facebook.com/press.php

Helpful Facebook Destinations

Facebook www.facebook.com/facebook

Marketing Solutions www.facebook.com/marketing

Facebook Studio www.facebook-studio.com

Facebook Ads www.facebook.com/facebookads

Facebook Pages www.facebook.com/facebookpages

Facebook Platform www.facebook.com/platform

Applications on Facebook www.facebook.com/applicationsonfacebook

Facebook Live www.facebook.com/FacebookLive

Webinar Center www.facebook.com/adsmarketing/index.php?sk=webinarcenter

Popular Facebook Blogs

The Facebook Blog (official blog) www.blog.facebook.com/

Inside Facebook www.insidefacebook.com/

All Facebook www.allfacebook.com/

Advertising & Sponsored Stories

Create Facebook Ads www.facebook.com/ads/create/

Guide to Facebook Ads www.facebook.com/adsmarketing/

Ads Page www.facebook.com/FacebookAds

Sponsored Stories www.facebook.com/sponsoredstories

External Ad Policy guidelines www.facebook.com/ad_guidelines.php

Help Center for Ads www.facebook.com/adshelp

Pages

Create a Page www.facebook.com/pages/create.php

Pages Page www.facebook.com/FacebookPages

Pages Best Practices www.facebook.com/FacebookPages?v=app_7146470109

Most Popular Facebook Pages pagedata.insidefacebook.com/

Vertical Directory of Pages www.facebook.com/pages/

Alphabetical Directory of Pages www.facebook.com/directory/pages

FAQ for Facebook Pages https://www.facebook.com/help/?topic=pages

Terms and Guidelines www.facebook.com/terms_pages.php

Usernames for Facebook Pages www.facebook.com/username

Usernames for Facebook Pages FAQ https://www.facebook.com/help/?page=900

Reporting IP Infringement on Pages www.facebook.com/copyright.php

General Legal and Permissions

Facebook Brand Permissions www.facebook.com/brandpermissions

Promotions Guidelines www.facebook.com/promotions_guidelines.php

Statement of Rights and Responsibilities www.facebook.com/terms.php

Copyright Infringement www.facebook.com/legal/copyright.php?howto_report

Recommended Facebook Providers

Preferred Developer Program developers.facebook.com/preferreddevelopers

Ads API Tool Providers developers.facebook.com/adsapivendors

Developer & Platform Resources

General Resources www.developers.facebook.com

Examples of Site Integrations developers.facebook.com/showcase/

Facebook Platform Page www.facebook.com/platform

Developer Blog developers.facebook.com/blog/

Facebook Application Directory www.facebook.com/apps/directory.php

Social Plugins developers.facebook.com/plugins

Graph API developers.facebook.com/docs/reference/api/

Open Graph developers.facebook.com/docs/opengraph/

Authentication developers.facebook.com/docs/authentication/

Post Purchase Sharing developers.facebook.com/docs/reference/dialogs/

Facebook Credits developers.facebook.com/credits/

SDKs and Tools developers.facebook.com/docs/sdks/

Developer Roadmap developers.facebook.com/roadmap

Live Status of Platform developers.facebook.com/live_status

Developer Discussion Forum forum.developers.facebook.net/

Developer’s Policy Wiki developers.facebook.com/policy/

Permissions developers.facebook.com/docs/authentication/permissions

Local

Places Information www.facebook.com/places

Facebook Places Page www.facebook.com/facebookplaces

Facebook Places Help Center www.facebook.com/help/?topic=places

Find Deals on Facebook www.facebook.com/deals

Deals Info for businesses www.facebook.com/deals#!/deals/business

Deals Help Center www.facebook.com/help/?page=18844

Higher Education Marketing Links of the Day

Here’s the latest in Higher Education and Higher Education Marketing news curated by Dr. Taylor Trussell.

Calculating the Potential Return on Your Major (NY Times). “While not always utilitarian or pragmatic, a degree in English or the humanities can enrich one’s life, in incalculable ways, for decades. But do such degrees ‘pay’?”

The Downsized College Graduate (NY Times). “Are there reasons besides the economy to explain why today’s group is different? Are some students affected more than others? How can we do a better job of steeling young people for the cruel world?”